//
you're reading...
Happy Endings, Nosh, Recipes

The best shortbread cookies

I’m going to warn you…these cookies are so addictive. I’m not even exaggerating when I say that I think that these are the best cookies ever. My MIL made some one year and filled a cookie jar for the annual Christmas gift exchange. We all fought over it – kids and grownups alike, stealing the precious jar in lieu of grabbing a new present.

These were so good that I had even asked her to make some for our wedding gift bags. 800 glorious cookies. I’m pretty certain that those bags got opened right away and the contents eaten before anyone even got home. AND, i kid you not – people are still talking about the cookies. Make these…and make lots!

The Best Shortbread Cookies EVER!
Recipe from my wonderful Mother in law
 

Ingredients:
1 pound of butter (she uses salted)
1/2 cup corn starch
1 cup icing sugar
3 cups flour
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Instructions:
1. Preheat oven to 325°F.
2. Put all ingredients in a bowl and beat on high for 5 minutes or until dough is fluffy.
3. Pipe into desired shape.
4. Bake 12 minutes or until edges are lightly golden brown.

About Eunice

I'm just a girl who is passionate about food. It is my personal quest to try to expand my culinary horizons both at home and abroad. However, I was not always passionate about food. I had my epiphany much later when I got my very first job...at a sushi joint here in town. And just like that "Hook, line and sinker"...a foodie was born! I'm a P/T blogger, P/T yogini...but always a foodie.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “The best shortbread cookies

  1. Useful information like this one must be kept and maintained so I will put this one on my twitter list! Thanks for this wonderful post and hoping to post more of this!

    Posted by Wedding Dessert Ideas | February 16, 2012, 9:09 PM
  2. I like the idea of piping the batter into cookies! They would look so pretty…especially dusted with a bit of icing sugar! Thanks for the great idea. I think I could adapt these to be dairy free by using Earth Balance instead of the butter…very tempting recipe as I LOVE Shortbread! Susan H @ The Food Allergy Chronicles

    Posted by Susan H. | March 1, 2012, 4:00 PM

Delicious Comments

Foodbuzz
Follow Me on Pinterest

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

The Cellar